Washed Memoir in Real Time
Washed Memoir in Real Time Podcast
motherworld
14
0:00
-2:45

motherworld

Washed Memoir Episode XII: Mission Accomplished
14
motherworld

I'll hold my lines 
between you and I, 
we'll keep the planets aligned.

Deep in the fields
where the grains grow in lines 
and they sway back in time—
back on another world.

But you're confined to the motherworld. 

Home on our motherworld.
Stay here on our motherworld.
Confined to the motherworld.

Bird Lore

There was a reason that I started writing this newsletter and there is only one person that is sacrificing something for my follies. I started this journey largely because I wrote the song “Bird Lore” as gift to my wife, Robin, last year. This gift was the first song released via Washed Memoir in Real Time.

“Bird Lore” is about the challenges of long-term relationships with a refrain about the importance of paying attention to the whole of your partner. Something on which I could improve.

“motherworld” is less of a gift and more of a expression of empathy for Robin and the mothers in my life and at-large. Something she and they deserve in greater quantities.

Robin is an amazing person and an incredible artist. Here’s a recent painting.

Robin Louise Schaefer, “Beloved” oil on canvas, 2023

Mission Accomplished

I feel more urgency to rest than to reflect.

I’ve accomplished my primary goal when starting Washed Memoir in Real Time: 12 songs written and recorded over 12 months.

Oh and a record label and a TV show.

What’s next? I’m not sure, except the following is coming in January, so hold on to your butts.

All the love in the world to you.

Your pal,

RS

14 Comments
Washed Memoir in Real Time
Washed Memoir in Real Time Podcast
Writing music and writing about writing music.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
YouTube Music
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Miter