Washed Memoir in Real Time
Washed Memoir in Real Time Podcast
Dragon Eyeez
11
0:00
-3:17

Dragon Eyeez

Washed Memoir Episode XVIII: Real Time Lapse
11

Washed Memoir in Real Time (WMRT) is a vehicle of expression.

Art Corner

Last time it was Skelecore. This time, covers? COVERS? Are you kidding me. We were promised original artistry! We were promised fanfare, revelations, adulations and exultations…and you, Miter, give us cover songs.

Well don’t blame me, blame someone other than me who is not me. Once you do that, I’ll feel better and I think we will all feel better.

The track presented for your auricular delight, my friend, is in fact a cover song. And yes, I have obtained the necessary license to distribute this song. So put down that phone and stop calling your lawyer.

And what a song! Dragon Eyes by Adrianne Lenker.

I recorded this probably two or three years ago and it has been sitting on the old cloud. Must be nice to be a song sitting in a cloud. Until you realize that being stored in a cloud is exactly the same as being in the Matrix.

Fortunately, Laurence Fishburne told me this song is the one and gave me the chance to take the orange pill or the coconut pill. I chose coconut and I have to tell you…yum. Delicious.

I wouldn’t call myself a BIG Big Thief fan, but definitely a fan. I have not listened to the most recent Adrianne Lenker album that people say is quite good. But who are these people saying things and can I trust them? Why would I? I don’t know what kind of pills they’ve been taking this bratwurst summer and frankly, Mr. Shankly, I don’t have the bandwidth to find out. I guess I’ll have to listen myself.

This song struck me. It seems to have additionally struck countless teenagers who have made their own versions on youtube, many of which are better than mine.

One nice thing about being a musician: there is always a teenager out there who is better than you, no matter your age.

Damn the precocious teens1. I think my version has some charm and gives the song a different lens.

There are three acoustic guitars playing similarly. The simplicity of the song is part of the beauty. I read the lyrics as a love song with an endearing yet mysterious lens into a relationship.

“Miter’s version” adds two vocal parts with a harmony and a few sniffles. Maybe I hear a kid crying or maybe that is burned into my eardrums. Honestly, it’s fine. No reason to dig it out and try and clean it up. Keep it Real™ is what I always say.

But really, a gorgeous, striking, simple song. These types of magical things get me every time. There is no way for me to compete with the talent nor am I trying. I hope to have not ruined your favorite song.

Dragon Eyes by Adrianne Lenker

Freezing at the edge of the bed
Chewing a cigarette and repeating
Shadows of the words I said
I don't wanna blame you
I don't wanna blame

Stars bloom in the warm summer night
They have a clear view
Without the bedroom light
They don't wanna name you
They don't want a name

Dragons have silent eyes
Cracked eggshells, fireflies
I don't wanna tame you
I don't wanna tame

When the hot sand burns my feet
You have cool hands, you are sweet
I don't wanna change you
I don't wanna change

Carnations into the vase
Unfold your clothes, out of the case
I just want a place with you
I just want a place

As the coastline is shaped by the wind
As we make love and you're on my skin
You are changing me
You are changing

Stars bloom
On a warm summer night
They have a clear view
Without the bedroom light
I just want a place with you
I just want a place

MITER EP RELEASE!!

The lack of original songs I’ve recorded this year remains an issue. Actually it isn’t an issue. Nobody cares and I’ve been producing an amazing amount of material all things considered.

Dragon Eyeez is part of an EP of Miter cover songs to be released next month. Dragon Eyeez is the only one that was not recorded over the past month, but I like it and it deserves to be on the EP.

Now. Let me tell you something that will blow your top. All of the other songs included on the EP were selected during a round of Tune-Tag, a feature of

with .

Stay tuned or tagged to learn which songs were selected. If you are not familiar, Tune-Tag is a delightful romp in which Brad Kyle invites guests to trade songs with him—one after the other—and each participant has to guess the connection between songs. It’s a hoot. Make sure to subscribe to Front Row & Backstage.

When the article (Tune-Tag) comes out, I will simultaneously release an EP on Bandcamp featuring covers of the 4 songs I selected during Tune-Tag—and two bonus tracks.

I’m excited to share the full EP next month. It is a wild ride.

I’m calling it Parlour Magic. Here’s the art.

Image derived from: Parlor Magic; a Series of Tricks Made Easy for Evening Parties and Other Entertainments. New York, Worthington Co, 1889. Pdf. www.loc.gov/item/ltf91000532/.

I could write more but moderation is a quality of a gentleman. Or so I have read.

Until next time.

Your #1 guy,

RS

1

This would also be a good album title, yep sort of a Petty reference

Discussion about this podcast

Washed Memoir in Real Time
Washed Memoir in Real Time Podcast
Writing music and writing about writing music.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
YouTube Music
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Miter