Washed Memoir in Real Time
Washed Memoir in Real Time Podcast
The Color of Blood
7
0:00
-5:27

The Color of Blood

Washed Memoir Episode XIX: Dream Masters
7

Washed Memoir in Real Time (WMRT) is a vehicle of expression.

The Color of Blood

I want to make a list 
carve it in stone
cover it in blood 
of yours and my own
carry it away so the world can be shown
that the one is born

until we overcome the 
battles of our blood
I'll send you on the way to the morning sun
the cover of my love will 
keep you safe and warm 
on the road my son

we were on the run
on the road to Rome
when the windows were shut
and our cover was blown

they took us by the numbers
no we never came home 
and the world was lost
and our clothes were torn
and we thought you were forever gone
with the color of blood 

a tunnel underground 
passes through the mountain stone
it funnels all my loves 
to the caverns below
to filter out the sun
so no light can be shown 
on the color of blood 

we thought you were forever gone 
until the one was born
with the color of blood 
Untitled watercolor by Robin Louise Schaefer

A Dreamer of Dreams

Original voice memo recording

The Art of Gear

This song, The Color of Blood, came to me in a dream.

There is enough to interpret in the lyrics that go beyond what I might express, so I’d rather not pontificate. If forced to describe what this song is about I would say “fatherhood” and I think of it as a song for my son, Linden, though not about him.

The rest can sit with me and with you.

Did you know that

has a Substack? It’s true and you should check it out. I did and it helped me finish this song. I was struggling with recording vocals and came across this video interview (linked below) with him and the late great Richard Swift. I ended up using the technique described here: singing into an SM57 microphone covered (in my case) with a N95 mask and no headphones, only monitors.

I did it in one take and it worked. Maybe coulda used a few more takes, but whatever.

DAMIEN JURADO
"Why does everything always have to be an ordeal?" - Richard Swift
“It’s just music”. Words that I carry with me to this very day. Richard said it often. Looking back, I believe he was purposely drilling this into my head. He knew me. Letting go was new for me during that time of my life. We would be in the same room often, and I would just watch him. The opening of his hands. In thought. Silence. Positioning a micr…
Listen now

I hope you enjoy this one. I’ve been struggling with writing new songs lately, so it feels good to get another one out there.

Things of Note

Speaking of not writing new material but still puttin’ in work: a new Miter EP of cover songs is coming out soon! Check out my prior post for the first single.

Would you like an advance copy? Say the word (drop a comment) and I’ll send you a magic code if you promise not to tell anyone what songs are featured!

If you tell, you’ll die in seven days :(

Copies of Salon du Monde, Fremont the Soundtrack are still available! I know this seems unbelievable, but it is true. Cop the goods here before it is too late:

SALON DU MONDE SOUNDTRACK

See ya real soon.

Your pal,

RS

Discussion about this podcast

Washed Memoir in Real Time
Washed Memoir in Real Time Podcast
Writing music and writing about writing music.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
YouTube Music
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Miter